Fun Strawberry Lemonade Mocktail Recipe

 

mocktail

I hope everyone is having a wonderful week so far! My name is Lauren Pickens and I’m so excited to be posting my second guest blog here on The HighChair Chic. You can read my first post here, which is a Healthy Eating Essentials post. You can also visit my website, where I discuss pop culture, lifestyle, and much more!

Today I will be sharing a recipe for a strawberry lemonade mocktail. It’s super easy and a drink that you can enjoy with the whole family.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup of fresh strawberries or frozen strawberries

1 cup of sugar

1 cup of water


Lemon juice

Plain seltzer water

Ice cubes

The first half of the ingredients will be used to make your strawberry simple syrup. Simple syrups are used in cocktails and other drinks to give a powerful burst of flavor. Instead of using store bought syrups that are full of preservatives and chemicals, we’re going to make our own!

Put the strawberries, water, and sugar into a medium sized pot and bring your ingredients to a boil.

DSC_0305

Next let it simmer for around 20-25 minutes, stirring occasionally. Once you strawberries are falling apart take it off of the heat. If you are using frozen strawberries it will take about 25 minutes.

Using a strainer filter out the bits of strawberry skin and put your syrup into a bowl so that it can cool.

DSC_0312

Now your simple syrup is done! All that’s left to do is to put it in the refrigerator to cool until it is completely chilled. For me this was a few hours.

Once the syrup is done cooling you can mix your drinks. You can change the portions depending on how sweet/sour you want your drink.

DSC_0316

In each of my cups I put about 4, cubes of ice, 2 tablespoons of lemon juice, 2 tablespoons of strawberry syrup, and filled the rest of the glass up with seltzer to balance out the flavors.

Once you have added the ingredients use a straw or spoon to stir it and enjoy!

DSC_0325

 

This would be perfect for a holiday party or family night when you want to do something a little special!

If you liked this post please follow my blog, twitter, and instagram for more!

6 thoughts on “Fun Strawberry Lemonade Mocktail Recipe

Leave a comment